Location Information

28th Circuit Court

437 E. Division St., Cadillac, MI 49601
(231) 779-9490 (Phone)
(231) 779-9230 (Fax)
Email: circuitcourt@wexfordcounty.org

Hours: Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Court Staff

Hon. William M. Fagerman

Chief Circuit Judge

Hon. Edward D. Van Alst

Presiding Judge of the Family Division- Wexford County

Flora A. Grundy

Circuit Court Administrator

Nicole C. Sidebottom

ADR Clerk

Nancy K. Creed

 Circuit Court Reporter



Cadillac-Wexford  Airport Authority
Length of term: 2 years

Raymond Hill (expires 12/31/20)
Bill King (expires 12/31/21)
Bill Paul (expires 12/31/21)
David Mackey (expires 12/31/20)

Joeseph Barron-City Appointee (expires 10/15/20)
Karl Holder-City Appointee (expires 8/21/21)
Fred Osborn-City Appointee (expires 2/22/21)

Cadillac-Wexford Public Library Board
Length of term: 5 years

Sandra Bengelink (expires 12/31/22)
Lee Jones (expires 12/31/24)
Linda Kimbel (expires 12/31/23)
Vicki Long (expires 12/31/20)
Brian Valice (expires 12/31/21)

Cadillac-Wexford Transit Authority
Length of term: 2 years

Larry Copley (expires 12/31/20)
Rosanne Denny (expires 12/31/21)
Mark Howie (expires 12/31/20)
Eleanor Sosenko (expires 12/31/21)

Michael Hayes-City Appointee (expires 6/5/20)

Construction Board of Appeals
Length of term: 3 years

Paul Keller (expires 10/31/22)
Scott Kleinsorge (expires 10/31/20)
Stephen Perry (expires 10/31/22)
Mark Richardson (expires 10/31/21)
Randy Williams (expires 10/31/21)

Department of Health & Human Services
Length of term: 3 years

Bob Colvin (expires 12/31/22)
Roger Hopkins (expires 12/31/20)

Yvonne Hebert-State Appointee (expires 2021)

Northern Lakes Community Mental Health Services Board
Length of term: 3 years

Rosanne Denny (expires 3/31/20)
Ben Townsend (expires 3/31/21)

Networks Northwest-Workforce Development Board
Length of term: 3 years

Ken Bollman (expires 12/31/22)
Leslie Nowlin (expires 12/31/21)

Wexford County Road Commission
Length of term: 6 years

Harold Falan (expires 12/31/24)
Lorne Haase (expires 12/31/20)
Harry Hagstrom (expires 12/31/22)
Dean Jurik (expires 12/31/25)
Jim Leggett (expires 12/31/21)

Veterans' Services Committee
Length of term: 4 years

Jack Baughan (expires 12/31/21)
Susan Marcum (expires 12/31/23)
Joe Porterfield (expires 12/31/22)
Gary Taylor (expires 12/31/20)

Wexford Missaukee Community Corrections Advisory Board
Length of term: 2 years
All terms expire 12/31/21

Trent Taylor, Wexford Sheriff
Will Yancer, Missaukee Sheriff
William Fagerman, Circuit Court Judge
Adam Ottjepka, Chief of City Police Rep.
Audrey Van Alst, District Court Judge
Melissa Ransom, Probate Court Judge
Julie Theobald, Wexford Commissioner
Dean Smallegan, Missaukee Commissioner
Jason Elmore, Wexford PA
David DenHouten, Missaukee PA
Charles Kennard, Wexford Circuit Court Probation Agent
Laura O'Dell, Missaukee Circuit Court. Probation Agent
Kristie Hatinger, Dist. Court Probation
Johanna Carey, Wexford County Criminal Defense Attorney
Brian Hoffman, Missaukee County Criminal Defense Attorney
John Mellish, Rep. of Business Community
William Barnett, Rep. of Media Communications
Vacant, Rep. of General Public
Cassandra Bugai, Rep. of Substance Abuse

28th Circuit Court

Circuit Court Video Proceedings

Press Release: Wexford-Missaukee Court System

Click on the following link to see the press release dated March 13, 2020 for information regarding the operations of the Wexford Missaukee Court System: Press Release. 

The state is divided into judicial circuits along county lines. The state legislature determines the number of judges within a circuit based upon the court caseload. In less populated rural areas, there are multi-county circuits, and judges travel from one county to another to hold court sessions. The 28th Circuit Court is a multi-county circuit which encompasses both Wexford and Missaukee Counties. Court sessions are, therefore, held in both Cadillac and Lake City, which are the county seats for Wexford and Missaukee Counties, respectively.

The circuit court is the trial court of general jurisdiction in Michigan because of its very broad power. Circuit court has taken jurisdiction over all actions except those given by state law to another court. Generally speaking, the circuit court has original jurisdiction in all civil cases involving more than $25,000.00, in all criminal cases where the offense involves a felony or certain serious misdemeanors, and in cases related to family matters, including divorce, paternity actions, juvenile delinquency, abuse and neglect of minors, adoptions, emancipation of minors and name changes.

The circuit court also hears cases appealed from the probate and district courts and from some administrative agencies of state government. In addition, the circuit court has superintending control over other courts within the judicial circuit, subject to final superintending control of the Supreme Court.

Circuit judges are elected by the registered voters within their circuit for six year terms in nonpartisan elections. The state legislature sets the qualifications for a circuit judge. Currently, a candidate must be a qualified elector, a resident of the judicial circuit, a lawyer who has been licensed to practice law for at least five years and under 70 years of age. Circuit judges are state employees, and their salaries are set by the state legislature.