Location Information

Wexford County Sheriff

1015 Lincoln St., Cadillac MI 49601
Office Hours: Monday- Friday 8:00am to 4:00pm Excludes Holidays.

Office Phone: 231-779-9216
Office Fax: 231-779-0218
Jail Phone: 231-779-9217
Jail Fax: 231-779-5498
Follow us on Facebook: Wexford County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Staff

Trent Taylor

Under Sheriff
Richard Doehring

Administrative Lieutenant
Richard Denison

Corrections Lieutenant
Michael McDaniel 

Detective Lieutenant
Marty Penney


Wexford County Sheriff

The Sheriff’s Office provides 24 hour public safety services that includes a Law Enforcement division, Corrections division, and Animal Control division. The department provides 24 hour emergency and non-emergency incident response, investigative services, traffic enforcement, drug and alcohol enforcement, school liaison services, the DARE program, and other community policing initiatives.

The department is staffed with approximately 55 employees and is responsible for criminal justice services; inmate care, custody, and control; animal control services; Marine, Snowmobile, and ORV patrol; and support services. Officers are also assigned to various teams such as the County Dive Team, Emergency Response Team, Crime Scene Technicians, Accident Investigators, and Fire Investigators.

The office is staffed by three clerical employees who are responsible for police reports, firearm registration and permit issuance, civil paper filings, inmate housing, fingerprinting, and accounting responsibilities.

The elected department head is Sheriff Trent J Taylor; Undersheriff Richard Doehring; Administrative Lieutenant Richard H. Denison II of the Uniform Law Enforcement Division; Jail Administrator Lieutenant Micheal McDaniel of the Corrections Division, and Detective Lieutenant Marty Penney of the Detective Division.

Related Values

To accomplish our mission we will:
Respect the integrity and dignity of all individuals;
Demonstrate the highest standards of personal integrity and honesty in our pursuit of quality public service;
Be proactive and innovative problem solvers;
Commit to personal and organizational excellence through teamwork;
Provide fiscally responsible public safety services;
Attract, develop, motivate, and empower people who demonstrate professional competence, conduct, and courage;
Build and enhance relationships with other law enforcement and community-based agencies and organizations through mutual partnerships.